siliconehose.com
Thanks Thanks:  1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 14

Thread: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

  1. #1
    Rookie Prizmatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-08-12
    Location
    Ontario, California
    Posts
    46
    Gameroom Cash
    $6320
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    I have a 2000 Tundra 4.7, and I have a check engine light for the above mentioned trouble code. I have removed the sensor and check it for resistance, and it is within tolerance. Anybody know of any common issues with this sort of thing? Thanks in advance.
    __________________
    Thread Author

  2. #2
    Toyota Tech
    MPToy07's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-08-12
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    2,119
    Gameroom Cash
    $52055
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    49

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Do you have the exact code number? Should be something like P0### or P1###. This will tell you whether it's a bank 1 or bank 2 sensor. Also, you may have trouble starting the truck if you're losing one of the cam sensor signals. This would be the best time to measure your resistance, in case it's an intermittent failure. I've never heard of camshaft sensor codes on the older models, hopefully it just turns out to be a sensor issue. Good luck and let us know what you find!!!
    __________________

    07 Tundra 2WD RCSB 5.7
    2"/4" drop; Belltech shocks, TR rear axle flip kit, Sequoia front swaybar, TRD rear swaybar with TR relocation kit
    BHLM with Oracle 5K LED low beams, DDM/Morimoto 5K 35W HID fogs, VLED switchback turn signals
    TRD Supercharger, G-Tek Fab SABM Kit, JBA long tube headers, custom dual 3" catted exhaust
    IPT modified valve body, CalTrac low-profile traction bars, 4.30 gear swap, Auburn Gear Pro LSD
    Check out my dyno graphs and track times here

  3. Thanks Gutz "Thanks for this post"
  4. #3
    Rookie Prizmatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-08-12
    Location
    Ontario, California
    Posts
    46
    Gameroom Cash
    $6320
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Thanks for the reply. The code is P0340. I have checked the resistance, and it is within operating range. I have tested the voltage coming from the electrical plug, and I have zero voltage.
    __________________
    Thread Author

  5. #4
    Tundraddicted since 2007!
    Gutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-11-08
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,182
    Gameroom Cash
    $169866
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    115

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    MP is a tech for Toyota, I'm sure he'll chime back in soon.
    __________________
    Franky
    12 Second Tundra<--- Clicky

  6. #5
    Rookie Prizmatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-08-12
    Location
    Ontario, California
    Posts
    46
    Gameroom Cash
    $6320
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    I am not too experienced with electrical trouble shooting, but did try my best to find some clues. I checked for continuity on both terminals of the plug going into the wiring loom. 1 terminal had continuity on just the positive. BUT...the other terminal had continuity on the positive and negative. That surely doesnt sound good to me. Is there a way I can test the ECU if its bad???
    __________________
    Thread Author

  7. #6
    Tundraddicted since 2007!
    Gutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-11-08
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,182
    Gameroom Cash
    $169866
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    115

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Test the ECU, hmm. I don't know, besides swapping it out with a know good one, there MIGHT be a tool you can plug into it and test it???
    __________________
    Franky
    12 Second Tundra<--- Clicky

  8. #7
    Toyota Tech
    MPToy07's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-08-12
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    2,119
    Gameroom Cash
    $52055
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    49

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Hey I'm back!!! Finally got a chance to check things out at work. Been busy this week, replacing the frame on an 02 Tundra, so I pretty much know the first gen inside n out right now lol. I checked out the code and it reminded me that you only have one camshaft sensor. I believe the cam sensor generates its own signal voltage, so you won't see any voltage from the computer. Most of the issues I've seen is with the cam sensor itself. Even though resistance may be good, the shielded wire could be broken, causing interference from other components. The only other issue I've seen is the tooth broken on the cam pulley itself, but this usually only happens when someone does the timing belt wrong and snaps it off. The first thing I would do is replace the sensor itself, and go from there.
    __________________

    07 Tundra 2WD RCSB 5.7
    2"/4" drop; Belltech shocks, TR rear axle flip kit, Sequoia front swaybar, TRD rear swaybar with TR relocation kit
    BHLM with Oracle 5K LED low beams, DDM/Morimoto 5K 35W HID fogs, VLED switchback turn signals
    TRD Supercharger, G-Tek Fab SABM Kit, JBA long tube headers, custom dual 3" catted exhaust
    IPT modified valve body, CalTrac low-profile traction bars, 4.30 gear swap, Auburn Gear Pro LSD
    Check out my dyno graphs and track times here

  9. #8
    Rookie Prizmatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-08-12
    Location
    Ontario, California
    Posts
    46
    Gameroom Cash
    $6320
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Thank you, I appreciate the guidance. I will look for a cam sensor, and definitely get back to let you guys know if that worked.
    __________________
    Thread Author

  10. #9
    Rookie Prizmatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-08-12
    Location
    Ontario, California
    Posts
    46
    Gameroom Cash
    $6320
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Forgot to update the thread. I replaced the cam sensor, but didnt fix my issue. BUT.......I realized I accidentally swapped the cam gears No more cam sensor trouble code now

  11. #10
    Tundraddicted since 2007!
    Gutz's Avatar
    Join Date
    12-11-08
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    7,182
    Gameroom Cash
    $169866
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    115

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Haha, nice!
    __________________
    Franky
    12 Second Tundra<--- Clicky

  12. #11
    Toyota Tech
    MPToy07's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-08-12
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    2,119
    Gameroom Cash
    $52055
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    49

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Simple mistake with an easy fix...AND you know you have a good sensor in there now!!! How's the truck running?
    __________________

    07 Tundra 2WD RCSB 5.7
    2"/4" drop; Belltech shocks, TR rear axle flip kit, Sequoia front swaybar, TRD rear swaybar with TR relocation kit
    BHLM with Oracle 5K LED low beams, DDM/Morimoto 5K 35W HID fogs, VLED switchback turn signals
    TRD Supercharger, G-Tek Fab SABM Kit, JBA long tube headers, custom dual 3" catted exhaust
    IPT modified valve body, CalTrac low-profile traction bars, 4.30 gear swap, Auburn Gear Pro LSD
    Check out my dyno graphs and track times here

  13. #12
    Rookie Prizmatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    09-08-12
    Location
    Ontario, California
    Posts
    46
    Gameroom Cash
    $6320
    Post Thanks / Like
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Cam Position Sensor - Circuit Malfunction

    Truck is running a lot better, and starting reliably and consistently. I know why I got them backward. When I began to replace the head gasket, I labeled the cam gears according to how I was looking at the truck. Well, as I read on, in the Chilton Repair Manual, the cam shafts, cylinder heads, and other parts, are named either right side or left side (right side=passenger side/left side=driver side), just the opposite of how I labled my cam gears. Well...when I reinstalled all the parts, I was in Toyota thinking mode, and reinstalled the cam gears on the wrong side. Lesson learned.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Tire Pressure Sensor scam or coincident?
    By WLRay in forum Wheel & Tire Fitment Questions & Info
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-06-2015, 11:35 PM
  2. American Racing Circuit Wheels
    By Marky Mark in forum Tundra Wheels, Tires & Brakes
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-04-2011, 09:19 AM
  3. Interest in a Circuit Track meet?
    By cater in forum SouthEast
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-28-2010, 07:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •